September 22, 2003 - 2:37 pm

a couple of weeks ago, eli and i dragged my mattress into my un-couched living room and snuggled up to watch some movies.

the first: maid in manhattan.

now, wait! this movie was not as bad as you may think it is. for example, the opening credits are to Simon & Garfunkel's "Me and Julio Down by the School yard" and come on, that's a GOOD FUCKING SONG. well yeah, that's about all i remember. i grabbed some scissors and starting trimming off my split ends, one-by-one after that.

next movie: Identity

now anyone who knows me well, knows that i do not like scary movies. i'm the biggest wus on earth when it comes to them. the men i date tend to like that because if they ever take me to see one i'm usually in their lap by time the opening credits are over which is partly why i never wear skirts to see scary movies. that and the fact that movie theatres are cold and i'm one of those weirdos who is alwayz cold. (yes, i said "alwayz", you got a problem?)

so after Identity i was too scared to go to sleep despite the fact that it was past midnight and Eli had to wake up early for work. i was attempting to have pleasant chats with my boyfriend who was not responding to much of what i said. anyhow, i started thinking of something that i could invent, i always do that before i go to sleep when too i'm scared or stressed out. i thought about religion, which i think stems from when i was a little girl and my mom would tell me to think of angels when i was too scared to go to sleep.

annie: eli, hey eli. i'm going to write a book. well, not really write but sort of put together. it's going to be a combination of the Torah, the Koran and the Bible. I'm going to call it the "Toranible".

silence. (yeah, silence, can you believe it? i mean i thought that was fucking brilliant!)

eli: i'm going to write a book too. it's going to be called "i have to wake up at 6:30 tomorrow morning" and the first chapter is going to be called "pipe down, i gotta get some shut-eye".

i don't like him.

this weekend i got a sunburn by sitting out in the sun for about 9 hours. i was there with a bunch of my students from work who were helping me by handing out information at a festival. i happened to see someone i went to college with and we chatted for a bit. it was a little weird, he wasn't someone i was particularily close to but he kept in touch with people that i had been close to. when he left i looked at my kids and said "are you happy? all i do is hang out with inner-city 14 year olds on my weekends. anyone who sees me is going to think i'm some sort of female R-Kelly!" Raysheena replied "it was really weird to see you talking to someone older".

thanks, for that insight, raysheena.

one of the things that is really awesome is watching how these kids complain about their school but won't tolerate anyone else saying anything bad about the school. this woman in a wheelchair that i had met previously and who had completely ripped me a new asshole in front of plenty of people, came up to the table this weekend pretending to be interested, then looked at me and said "i already told you what i really think of the school" in front of the kids. as soon as she wheeled her fat ass out of my face, shawna looked at me and said: "Annie, you want me to go push her out of her wheelchair? because i WILL! We'll leave her face up on the sidewalk like a cockroach!"

who says inner-city kids don't have manners? if that's not loyalty, i don't know what is.

i love my job.

Friday Bingo - Pigeons in the Park

last five entries:
I'm 30 now!
Kermit was wrong, it's actually pretty easy
you're no good
Los Reyes del Mambo!
Steve #1